Writer’s Block and What to Do About It

"To begin... To begin... How to start? I'm hungry. I should get coffee. Coffee would help me think. Maybe I should write something first, then reward myself with coffee. Coffee and a muffin. Okay, so I need to establish the themes. Maybe a banana-nut. That's a good muffin."

“To begin… To begin… How to start? I’m hungry. I should get coffee. Coffee would help me think. Maybe I should write something first, then reward myself with coffee. Coffee and a muffin. Okay, so I need to establish the themes. Maybe a banana-nut. That’s a good muffin.”

My favorite quote on Writer’s Block comes from Brian K. Vaughan:

“‘Writer’s block’ is just another word for video games. If you want to be a writer, get writing, you lazy bastards.”

I don’t play video games, but I 100% agree with him. The majority of what we call “writer’s block” is really just procrastination.  Laziness.

So how do you fight it?

Well, I’m going to do some rephrasing and put a positive spin on it here.

In my own writing, what I consider “Writer’s Block” is really “Typer’s Block.”  That is, the actual sitting down and putting words to paper.  I spend all day writing in my head and that never gets blocked.

If you’re feeling Typer’s Block—that is, you sit at your computer and open up your Final Draft doc and you type a sentence and nothing else comes out… just STOP.  Get up from your computer, go for a walk, stop typing and start writing.  

 

You can write anytime, anywhere, as often as you want, for as long as you want.

And you can always give that typing thing another shot tomorrow (after you finish your video games.)

3 comments
  1. Moving away from my computer screen is sometimes exactly what I need to make sense of an idea/plotline/story/character. How many times have I been awake into the wee hours of the morning, gnawing on an idea, only to sleep on it and wake up with a new sense of clarity? The answer is many.

    Ideas will get there when they get there. The important thing is that you get them.

    • Thanks Spencer. Great to hear your thoughts. Reminds me that I need to find better ways of capturing those ideas when they come. I read recently of a writer who refuses to have a conversation in the morning until she sits at her computer and writes. Allows those thoughts to arrive uncluttered.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers

