• I am that I am.

Paul over at Fuzzy Typewriter posted a bit of a bio over on this blog. I thought it might be a good idea to do the same… maybe make things a little more personal around here. So, here goes..

  • I’m Hudson Phillips.
  • I’m 2…., okay 30. I’m thirty and I hate the sound of that. I turned this magically depressing number on April 11.
  • This is me:
  • I grew up in south Georgia, but luckily lost my accent by spending part of my childhood in the country of Haiti (where I played with tarantulas, took cold showers, and ate fish with the heads still on them) and moving to Atlanta at the age of 11.
  • I am not only a college drop out, I’m also a high school drop out (it’s not as bad as it sounds). Went to a private school from 6th-9th grade, was loosely home-schooled for 2 years after that, then got my GED. From there, I studied marketing for about a year and a half before I realized I didn’t have to go to school if I didn’t want to.
  • I grew up wanting to be a writer. I loved creating things. Post-high school I got involved in helping high-schoolers out at my church. Was interested in doing ministry full-time, but I just didn’t feel cut out for it. I then fell in love with design, which I did for the next 8 or so years… I have been cheating on design with writing (my one true love) for the past 3 years, and I plan on leaving design for good sometime in the next year (don’t tell her).
  • I live in Roswell, GA. A suburb of Atlanta. It’s a nice place where I can ride my bike to a river, hike up a “mountain,” and walk to Krispy Kreme, a BBQ place, and a library (if only we had a blockbuster, comic book store, & grocery store, I wouldn’t need a car).
  • I made some mistakes along the way and I am now divorced.
  • I have a 4 year-old son named Julien (not one of those mistakes).
  • I am in a 2.5 year long relationship with a perfect girl named Anna Kate (also not one of those mistakes).
  • I love movies. My favorite movies are those that blend natural characters with supernatural surroundings… with a little bit of style. I ADORE blockbusters. I also have a soft spot for teen movies & romantic comedies. My favorite filmmaker is M. Night Shyamalan. (With a lifetime achievement award to Spielberg.)
  • I love comic books. I look for the same thing in comics that I look for in movies. My favorite comic writer is Brian K. Vaughan. Comics readers are, surprisingly, some of the nicest people I’ve ever met.
  • The sections of Barnes & Noble I regularly visit are: Graphic Novels/Manga, Magazines, Theology, Writing, & Essays.
  • My heroes are Rich Mullins, a musician/writer, (who died in 1997, shortly after I got to seem him play for the first and last time) and author, C.S. Lewis. I believe they were two very different people yet I can’t think of two people I (long to) have more in common with.
  • I engulfed myself with music in the late 90’s – early 00’s and that’s still where my taste resides. My all-time favorite albums come from bands like the Get Up Kids, Jimmy Eat World, Blink-182, & Saves the Day.
  • I played in two bands in the early 00’s as well. The first was called Three Alarm Fire, the 2nd, Two Week Notice. Over the course of 4 years the bands rotated 12 members in and out. However, they always consisted of me, a girl singer, and a pop-punk sound. I feel like I only have two great regrets in life. One of them is allowing this band to break up.
  • I’m addicted to going to the movies, eating out, reading comics & books, flipping through magazines, and listening to podcasts,
  • I have a best friend named Marcus Ray who died in 2000. Ever since, me and a group of our friends get together once a year to remember our friend and to make sure we stay in touch. It is the highlight of my year.
  • I want a tattoo. Or a series of them. However, I feel like it’s taken me too long to decide what to get and getting a tattoo at 30 feels a bit like getting a sports car at 50.
  • My biggest fear is that I can’t make my dreams a reality.
  • I want to change lives, but I have no desire to leave a legacy.
4 comments
  1. I never knew you wanted a tattoo.

    And I agree about TWN. I actually listened to your EP the other day. You guys shouldn’t have broken up. I bet you know what my favorite song is…haha

  2. John said:

    Love your bio – it is YOU. Life is some journey, that’s Godstrewth.

  3. Well, after reading this I’m thinking I need to go back and really do mine this time around.

Leave a Reply

