• 2011 New Years Resolutions

Resolutions are a tricky thing.  In my experience, we are often in control of our destiny, but not necessarily the timing.  In setting New Years Resolutions, we are essentially limiting our timeline (to a year  [or less if we give up!]), which can lead to disappointment.  Resolutions, goals, are a free-flowing thing.  They should be constantly on your mind.  The point of resolutions isn’t so much the end result, as it is helping you focus on spending your time wisely.

So, I’m not going to list my 2012 resolutions here.

However, I AM going to share with you some of my 2011 resolutions.  Many of these resolutions weren’t one year resolutions at all, but part of a 5-year or 10-year plan, and I was blessed to see them come true ahead of that plan.  There were others, not listed here, that were part of a 1-year plan and they look to be another year or two down the road.

I keep a little notebook with me at all times.  It looks like this:

Inside this notebook is a number of things,

• A list of my top 6 priorities,

• A list of my top 4 values,

• A list of my top 4 emotional needs,

• A list of my top 3 life lessons,

• A list of things I’m grateful for,

• A list of all the things I’m looking for in a girl (you’re never seeing this one).

• A list of goals.

Many of them are too personal to list here, but all of the goals are written as if they have already happened: “I weigh 165 lbs.” for instance, even though I didn’t weigh that when I wrote it.

So every day, I repeat these goals to myself, often aloud, as if they are true, and as a result, you FEEL the results of these goals coming true, and eventually they do.  Sure it’s a little new-agey, but this is the first year I’ve really put this positive energy into practice and just in case you have any doubts, I’ll share with you my results.

Here are the 2011 entries which have come true:

1. I spend quality time every week with friends and family.
This is the first year that I haven’t been in a romantic relationship in a very long time.  This allowed me to spend more time with my family and friends and rekindle some old lost relationships.  For many this is an easy thing, but I so quickly get lost in my own world, that I occasionally have to force myself out of the house, hence the goal.

2. I have all the tattoos I want.
This year I got my first tattoo.  While it definitely isn’t “all the ones I want,” it was the first step towards that.  It looks like this:

3. I produce films.
This is one of those 10-year goals that just happened to fall into place this year when I produced a short film I wrote.  On top of that, I officially started a production company with two of my pals: The Brothers Ray, LLC.  Represent!

4. One of my scripts has been made into a movie.
TWO movies were filmed this year that I wrote – 1. “Crackerjack” – based on the screenplay “Church League,” an old script by myself, Lance Herd, & Kyle Gibson and 2. “Rooney’s World,” the short I wrote and produced this Summer.

5. I write three scripts a year.
I wrote two full length scripts this year – a rewrite of my script “Creature Seekers,” and “Midlife High” (alongside my partners Lance Herd & Kyle Gibson); and one short – “Rooney’s World.”  In addition to a handful of comic book scripts as well.

6. I mentor young writers.
Another 5-year goal that happened to fall onto my plate this year – I was invited to speak at a media conference on storytelling to a group of mostly college-aged kids.  A real dream come true.

7. I weigh 165lbs.
Just weighed myself today – 163 (with shoes on!).

I say all this simply to say, this has been, by far, the most productive year of my life.  And I owe it all to simply keeping those goals on the forefront of my mind.

RECOMMENDED READING:
If you’d like to learn more about setting and following goals, I recommend the popular book The Secret by Rhonda Byrne.

 

Leave a Reply

