Who are you?

I’ve recently been testing out some tactics on WordPress to boost readers of this site.  Posting more often, being more interactive, checking out the blogs of others.  And it’s helped.  Views have steadily been going up.  But I quickly grew uncomfortable with this idea of self-promotion, because it turned people into numbers and I’m a little grossed out by that.  I had to reevaluate the purpose of this site.

I realized my real goal is not to boost readership, but to boost relationships.  

So, with that in mind – I want to get to know you as a person, not as a number.  Maybe you’re a new visitor, maybe you’ve been coming by for a long time, maybe you’re a friend or family member, whatever it may be, I invite you to fill out this little quiz and post your response in the comments.

1. Where are you from?

2. What is your creative passion?

3. What is your favorite Tom Cruise movie?

4. Which author (alive or dead, fiction or non-fiction) would you want writing your biography?

5. Do you have a blog or other online home?  If so, where can I find it?

I’m gonna try to keep this a regular thing, post one of these every couple of weeks. Look forward to getting to you know you!

25 comments
  1. Angela said:

    1. Where are you from?

    Southern California

    2. What is your creative passion?

    comic books, movies, and taking picutures with my iphone!

    3. What is your favorite Tom Cruise movie?

    toss up between Born on the 4th of July or MI:3.

    4. Which author (alive or dead, fiction or non-fiction) would you want writing your biography?

    Harper Lee.

    5. Do you have a blog or other online home? If so, where can I find it?

    http://twitter.com/acomicbookgirl
    http://acomicbookgirl.me

    Also, you just reminded me I need to seriously update some social places of mine.

    • Hey Angela! Are you gonna be at SDCC this year? We need to hang out finally. iFanboy party?

      Also… curious by your choice of MI:3 over the other Mission Impossible movies? I really enjoyed it, but I think I still like the first one the best.

  2. I know exactly the same feeling. Self-promotion, while necessary can feel a little sleazy. Glad I’m not alone on that one ;)
    1. Sacramento, Ca, 2. Writing, 3. Vanilla Sky or Risky Business, can’t choose. 4. Milan Kundera, 5. http://www.oliviaobryon.com

    • Hi Olivia!

      Really enjoyed browsing your site. I think your book sounds really great. How much of it would you say is inspired by your own life?

      It occurred to me that maybe I haven’t seen that many Tom Cruise movies. To be fair, he’s made a lot. Really enjoyed Vanilla Sky, but I’ve never seen Risky Business.

      I had to google Milan Kundera, turns out I’ve spent some time in the city where he was born – Brno, Czech Republic.

  3. Hi Hudson – I love this. I may have to steal it. My principal blog is about a cure for loneliness (http://arabellafulloflife.wordpress.com) so relationships are a definite priority. Brilliant. So, for the record:
    I live in Transylvania (Romania), I was born and bred in West Sussex (England); writing (crime fiction) and teaching secrets; Tom Cruise… really? Cary Grant, now there was a man – Charade, Talk of the Town; Edward Lear – he was good at nonsense.
    My other principal blog (http://wheredoyougetideas.wordpress.com) is about teaching writers where to find ideas inside their own minds. There’s a subsidiary blog asking people to help me with a children’s story as I write it (http://transylvaniatales.wordpress.com) and a couple of occasionals about food (cheapeasydelicious) and life in Transylvania, where people can come for a writers’ retreat in the mountains.
    You did ask.
    I really like this blog, and by extension, the sound of you – bright, fun, warm. Have a lively day!

    • Thanks! Steal away. I would love for more blogs to encourage interactivity. Love that you’re from Transylvania! (I’ll be honest, I totally thought that was a fictional place.)

      I’ll definitely check out your blogs. Edward Lear = great answer.

  4. 1. Where are you from? San Francisco Bay Area, living in Brooklyn NY

    2. What is your creative passion? Directing and writing

    3. What is your favorite Tom Cruise movie? Tropic Thunder. Not really “his” movie but his best performance. Best “serious” performance has to be Magnolia. I’m not a huge fan though.

    4. Which author (alive or dead, fiction or non-fiction) would you want writing your biography?
    Hemingway maybe, he would make me sound more masculine than I am I would hope.

    5. Do you have a blog or other online home? If so, where can I find it?

    http://kevintmorales.wordpress.com or my home site: kevintmorales.com

    I enjoyed checking out your blog. Keep it up.

    • Thanks Kevin!

      Cruise was really great in Tropic Thunder. They’ve supposedly got a spin-off movie based around his character in the works. Will be interesting to see where that goes.

      Love your blog!

  5. 1. Not allowed to tell cause of very good reasons…sorry… :`(

    2. Drawing, writing, reading (comics, manga, graphic novels, books/novels), watching things such as anime, movies and TV shows.

    3. First “Mission Impossible” movie!!!!!!! :D (I <3 old movies!!! ^_^ Well…it's not OLD, old, but…yeah! :))

    4. Hmm…I'm not sure about that one…

    5.Yup! :) Very first blog EVER so I don't know if it's any good… -_-" It's:
    http://videogameluver.wordpress.com
    I think….O.O haha Just kidding! :D

    • Great job on your blog! You’re off to a great start.

      Love the first Mission Impossible, (we’ll just say it’s oldER).

      • haha THANKS!!!! :D I LOVE your blog!!

  6. 1. Pacific Northwest
    2. Writing of many different kinds (not so big on poetry though)
    3. Gotta go with Born on the 4th of July
    4. This is a really tough one but I’d probably go with Janet Fitch who wrote White Oleander and Paint it Black.
    5. My site is http://www.emiliajordan.com – blog plus some other stuff :)

    This was a really cool idea! It’s nice to have something so interactive. Otherwise you can feel like you’re just talking to the ether. I’ll probably do something similar down the line when my site gets a bit more developed and has more people.

    BTW are you going to tell us YOUR answers? Hmmm? :)

    • Thanks Emilia, look forward to seeing something similar on your blog.

      I’m gonna have to check out Born on the 4th of July since it’s such a popular answer.

      Okay, okay, my answers coming shortly…

  7. 1. Atlanta.

    2. Writing! Movies mostly, but with a little comics thrown in. Also dabble in producing & teaching.

    3. I’m surprised no one’s said it yet but, hands down, Jerry Maguire. First Mission Impossible is a close second. In addition to both being fantastic films, Tom Cruise is at his Tom Cruisiest in them.

    4. Kurt Vonnegut. I think he’d do a nice job blurring the line between fact & fiction, somehow giving my life meaning in the process. OR a comic written by Brian K. Vaughan and drawn by Gabriel Ba.

    5. You’re reading it!

  8. Joe Sadlock said:

    Where are you from? Tucker, GA

    2. What is your creative passion? Music, photography, screenplays.

    3. What is your favorite Tom Cruise movie? Two words: Top Gun.

    4. Which author (alive or dead, fiction or non-fiction) would you want writing your biography? R.L. Stine

    5. Do you have a blog or other online home? If so, where can I find it? http://www.facebook.com/jsadlock

    • Joe! I didn’t know you wrote. I need to see some of your stuff!

      I’d read your biography by R.L. Stine.

  9. 1. Where are you from?
    All over the place. I’m living in Western North Carolina at the moment.

    2. What is your creative passion?
    Screenwriting, for sure.

    3. What is your favorite Tom Cruise movie?
    Either Minority Report or Mission Impossible II. I’d learn towards the latter, though.

    4. Which author (alive or dead, fiction or non-fiction) would you want writing your biography?
    Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. Mostly because he’s my favorite author and I think he’d make it funny and poignant, even though my life isn’t really either.

    5. Do you have a blog or other online home? If so, where can I find it?
    I do. Screengasm.wordpress.com for the word version of my film school career. :3

    • Wow! Mission Impossible 2. Controversial choice.

      I really enjoyed browsing your blog and tastes. I’m gonna dig around some more when I have a little time.

  10. MisterHessu said:

    Hi Huds!!! I hope you don’t mind my uncanny yet ultimately annoying ability to come up with (really stupid) nicknames! It’s just for the most awesome peeps who are worth it though.

    1. Helsinki, Finland.

    2. Writing, graphic design, using my mind (usually combined with my hands and a computer) to create various things (in addition to the former two).

    3. I was thinking Rain Man but then someone mentioned the Mission Impossible series.. So MI one.

    4. Stephen King absolutely.. Now there’s a million dollar idea. He’d get plenty of inspiration from my life – as if he needed any.

    5. Yeah.. Well you know the Ultimate DC blog, I have various other places.. But I’ll put my deviantART page here.

    http://misterhessu.deviantart.com/gallery/

    So, that’s it! For now..

    • Bring on the nicknames!

      Stephen King is a great choice. Plus he’d just be able to squeeze it in between the 9 books he’s writing this year.

      Really cool work on your deviantart!

      I’m still getting around to the story you sent me, just give me some time.

      • MisterHessu said:

        Alright, no hurry!

  11. 1. Where are you from?: I live in Virginia but am originally from North Carolina.

    2. What is your creative passion?: Writing, video games, movies and geeking out over the same.

    3. What is your favorite Tom Cruise movie? Ummmmm…..I think Mission Impossible 4 – because Simon Pegg was in it and I’m such a fan.

    4. Which author (alive or dead, fiction or non-fiction) would you want writing your biography?: Jasper Fforde. He’s quirky and creative. He’d make even the sad parts interesting and entertaining.

    5. Do you have a blog or other online home? If so, where can I find it? Yes! thegeekiestgirl.com

    • Simon Pegg added a nice comic relief element for sure. Begs the next question – what’s your favorite Simon Pegg movie?

      Imma check this Jasper Fforde out.

      Great blog, btw! Look forward to keeping up with it.

      • Favorite Simon Pegg movie – Hot Fuzz. Just finished reading his book, too – he’s amazingly smart AND funny. Thanks for the comment on the blog. I enjoy yours as well.

  12. JC said:

    1. Where are you from?
    Southern Illinois.

    2. What is your creative passion?
    Writing.

    3. What is your favorite Tom Cruise movie?
    Risky Business.

    4. Which author (alive or dead, fiction or non-fiction) would you want writing your biography?
    CD Payne

    5. Do you have a blog or other online home? If so, where can I find it?
    Yep.
    http://mymindraces.com

Leave a Reply

